Album Review: Integrity and Krieg Split EP

Integrity and Krieg

Integrity and Krieg
Album: Split
Label: Relapse Records
Genres: Hardcore Punk and Black Metal
Release Date: August 3, 2018

Split albums have been around for a long time and they are such an awesome thing.  When two bands like Integrity and Krieg come together and collaborate on an album it can make for quite a unique experience.

Legendary hardcore punk maniacs, Integrity, teamed up with New Jersey black metal act, Krieg.  To say that this album brings two very different sounds is an understatement but, it is fantastic.  I had recently seen Integrity live for the first time last month during Washington’s second annual Northwest Terror Festival.  They put on such an incredible performance that as soon as I saw their name pop up for an album review, I was all over it.  Not only was I blown away by their portion of the album, I was even more blown away by Krieg.  I had not listened to them before and man have I missed out on a killer band.

The split EP starts off with four songs by Integrity.  The opening track “Scorched Earth” really sets the tone for the nightmare about to unfold before you.  With blistering fast riffs, heavy bass, and pummeling drums, this song will make you want to start stage diving and moshing.  The pure intensity and visceral yell of vocalist Dwid Hellion really stands out on the two following tracks “Flames Of The Immortal” and “Sons of Satan”.  Their part of the split album comes to a close with the song “Document One”.  The entire song sounds like what you would expect if you walk through the gates of Hell.  Needless to say, it is awesome.

The final three songs go to Krieg.  The band kicks off their portion of the album with the song “Circle of Guilt”.  The song starts off with a loud and sustained scream by vocalist N.  The sound is so primal and sounds so agonizing it may catch you off guard at first.  The song goes through its fast and slow parts but it will keep you enticed the entire way though.  The next song is up, “This Time I’ll Leave You To Drown”.  Everything about this song is creepy and dark.  The atmosphere it creates is astounding and is so tastefully done.  The album comes to an end with the song “The Sick Winds Stir The Cold Dawn”.  The recording is live and really shows you how raw the band is.

With seven songs of pure aggression and what sounds like a literal Hell,  I have to give this split a perfect score.  Check it out when it comes out on August 3rd! You will not be disappointed.

INTEGRITY & KRIEG Split Tracklist:
1. INTEGRITY – Scorched Earth
2. INTEGRITY – Flames of the Immortal
3. INTEGRITY – Sons of Satan (Vermapyre Cover)
4. INTEGRITY – Document One (G.I.S.M. Cover)
5. KRIEG – Circle of Guilt
6. KRIEG – This Time I’ll Leave You To Drown
7. KRIEG – The Sick Winds Stir The Cold Dawn (Live)


Check out more reviews on

About Patrick Burt 97 Articles
Follow me on Instagram: @p.b.photos13