Album Review: Clutch – Book of Bad Decisions

Translate Page

Clutch - 'Book of Bad Decisions'

Clutch – Book of Bad Decisions

Clutch
Album: Book of Bad Decisions
Label: Weathermaker Music
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 7, 2018
Rating: 8/10

Clutch is back with their newest album ‘Book of Bad Decisions’ and it’s a true Clutch album in every way!

‘Book of Bad Decisions’ starts off with a musical battle cry of gritty, distorted bass and guitars, intent vocals and heavy drumming tempos. Fans will be moving to the beat from the first track while listening intensely to the lyrics.

As the album transitions into the second track “Spirit of ’76” fans will enjoy more of the crunchy, heavy distortion with an added spin that has the feel of grunge.

When you get to the fourth track “How to Shake Hands”, Clutch tosses a middle finger up to the establishment! With lines like “I don’t need the Secret Service, I know how to work a room”, “hot damn, the Democratic process, what a time to be alive” and “I’m ready to give the people what they want, and what they want is, straight talk, and no jive!”, it is clear they band is talking about more than just music on this album.

As ‘Book of Bad Decisions’ hits the fifth track, the music and tempo switches up to a bluesy sound that pulls in the brass section and an organ allowing Clutch to add some funk into the album. The lyrics pull in a bit of the cheesy factor singing about Barbarella.

The funk continues on through the next few tracks “Vision Quest”, “Weird Times” before transitioning back to the heavy distortion the album opened with. This time though, there’s still a heavy blues presence in the music, taking the tracks up a step and carries through the rest of the album until the last track. “Lorelei” slows down and let’s the listener decompress from the intensity of the album.

This is a solid Clutch release and fans will really enjoy what the guys have done on ‘Book of Bad Decisions’.  Definitely worth checking out!

Clutch – Book of Bad Decisions Tracklisting:
Gimme the Keys
Spirit of ’76
Book of Bad Decisions
How to Shake Hands
In Walks Barbarella
Vision Quest
Weird Times
Emily Dickinson
Sonic Counselor
A Good Fire
Ghoul Wrangler
H.B. Is in Control
Hot Bottom Feeder
Paper & Strife
Lorelei

 

Upcoming Tour Dates 2018:
Sunday, 9-16-18 in Chicago, IL at RiotFest **
Tuesday, 9-18-18 in St Paul, MN at Myth Live
Wednesday, 9-19-18 in Kansas City, MO at Uptown Theater
Friday, 9-21-18 in Houston, TX at HOB
Saturday, 9-22-18 in San Antonio, TX at River City Rockfest **
Sunday, 9-23-18 in Dallas, TX at Gas Monkey Live
Tuesday, 9-25-18 in Orlando, FL at House of Blues
Thursday, 9-27-18 in Norfolk, VA at The NorVa
Friday, 9-28-18 in Raleigh, NC at The Ritz
Saturday, 9-29-18 in Atlanta, GA at The Masquerade *
Sunday, 9-30-18 in Louisville, KY at Louder Than Life **
Tuesday, 10-02-18 in Denver, CO at Ogden Theater
Wednesday, 10-03-18 in SLC, UT at The Depot
Friday, 10-05-18 in Boise, ID at Knitting Factory
Saturday, 10-06-18 in Spokane, WA at Knitting Factory
Sunday, 10-07-18 in Seattle, WA at Show SODO
Monday, 10-08-18 in Vancouver, BC at Commodore Ballroom
Tuesday, 10-09-18 in Portland, OR at Roseland Theater
Thursday, 10-11-18 in San Francisco, CA at The Regency Ballroom
Friday, 10-12-18 in Los Angeles, CA at El Rey Theater
Saturday, 10-13-18 in San Bernadino, CA at Glen Helen Amphitheater (w/System Of The Down, Incubus) ***
Sunday, 10-14-18 in San Diego, CA at North Park/Observatory
Monday, 10-15-18 in Tempe, AZ at The Marquee
Wednesday, 10-17-18 in Tulsa, OK at Cain’s Ballroom
Thursday, 10-18-18 in Sauget, IL at Pop’s Nightclub
Friday, 10-19-18 in Grand Rapids, MI at 20 Monroe Live
Saturday, 10-20-18 in Detroit, MI at The Filmore Detroit
Sunday, 10-21-18 in Pittsburgh, PA at Stage AE
Tuesday, 10-23-18 in Toronto, ON at Rebel
Thursday, 10-25-18 in Worcester, MA at The Palladium
Friday, 10-26-18 in New York, NY at Irving Plaza
Saturday, 10-27-18 in New York, NY at Irving Plaza
Sunday, 10-28-18 in Philadelphia, PA at Electric Factory
 
* = no Sevendust
** = festival date / Clutch and festival bill only
*** = date w/ System of a Down / no Sevendust
 
 
See more reviews on YesterdazeNews.com
About Diane Webb 644 Articles
I am rock music fanatic, writer, photographer & traveler with severe wanderlust. Music, travel and enjoying life is key! Follow me on Instagram: @yesterdazenews and on Facebook: @YesterdazeNewsPhotography